A load of B******s: May Meeting 2013

Its been two weeks since the last meeting of the Grove of the Corieltauvi, and I did ponder to myself whether putting this blog up would be a good idea.

Ah, well.  To save anyone asking ‘Oooh what happened to the May meeting blog?’ here it is and… I’m so sorry.

Don’t expect any hidden insight or secret knowledge, the May meeting was purely a social gathering in our familiar alehouse haunt: TGHWI.

Its not often we get to unwind and just hang out with our Grovey-mates, luckily this was one of those nights.  Being early May, we were thankful for being inside the cosy, warm real pub feel of TGHWI, when looking outside we could see the lashings of rain and swaying trees in the wind.  Once I got back from the bar after ordering my lasagne (That’s right, I DIDN’T order pie this time!), I did think we’d have to compete in noise-making as the locals came in for a very loud social occasion.  Fortunately we didn’t and it was a wonderful opportunity for us to catch up.

I had a conversation about the new Adam Ant album with Briseilid, to whom I lent it.  My verdict? Its very different from his old stuff and took some getting used to, but I like it.

At some point, Spronk presented a book which has proven useful in helping me to plan for this years Grove Alban Heruin ceremony.  Though you could tell I had been drinking when I found the crest in its covers and declared: “That’s what I need to do when my book is finished: make a crest!  I’ll have a stag head with a dildo pointing out of its crown, surrounded by three Jack Russells!” At this we got into talking about whether or not a dildo-wielding stag is in fact some sort of unicorn.  And unicorns, according to Adult Swim’s Robot Chicken are Paedophiles!

Who’d have thought that the ultimate symbol of innocence and purity had in fact a corrupt and debasing nature?… the bastards.

Someone pointed out I had my own harem, due to me being the only male member present that night.  I’m sure there MUST have been some decent, intellectual conversation that night but I’ll be totally honest and admit the truth: I simply don’t remember. What I do remember is being led into doing my impression of Philip Carr-Gomm, though this might have been because we were talking about Tatterhood’s Narrow-Boat.  NO! WAIT! I suddenly remembered Spronk suggesting we turn the blog into a comic-book at least once… actually she recommended a format of blogging in the style of a cartoon, alas I can’t remember the official name for it…

To the ladies present that night, if you want to add anything, comment below!

About locksley2010

Based in the Midlands, Locksley2010 is now studying the Ovate Grade of the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids. He is seeking to be a full-time actor, likes cats, honest people and thinks he's hilarious. Do not feed after midnight!
This entry was posted in Meetings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

