October Meeting 2016- Drumming meditation journey

Meeting took place on Tuesday 11th October 2016. 

Arriving at Thorsson’s house, I tried to be good, I really did.  As he was hosting, Thorsson offered drinks and I had never seen him lost for words before.  I mean, there were words: “Well, I wasn’t expecting that.” In response to my request of a cup of tea.  The logic being we were going on a spiritual journey and I thought I’d save the alcohol until afterwards. After showing me his collection of mead, our Heathen member had fully convinced me a glass of Dark mead (soft, sweet and tasty) was definitely the way to go forward….. This was followed by a glass of Loki (soft, sweet and green!).  As any follower of this blog will account, I am not the Grove drunk, but I do enjoy the odd tipple and feel guilty if I decline any offers! 

There was a handful of us last night, myself and Thorsson of course, Danceswithweasels, Briseilid (leading the drumming), Cyberdragon, Teller & Vyvyan and Strider.  After catching up and managing to stop devouring Thorsson’s German ginger biscuits, we were finally able to calm ourselves down and found places to sit, relax, or even lie down.  The rhythm of the drum was soothing and helped to keep pace of the journey which started in a familiar place. A portal led us to a long avenue of trees where we met someone, who gave us a gift.  After roaming miles and miles we came to a boundary, that had another portal which took us to a totally different place.  Here we met a being who had a message for us, and we in turn gave a gift to for their message.  Behind us, the portal brought us back to the living room where we entered our bodies once again. 

All this Briseilid did with her drum and her voice helped shape the nature of our journey as well as what happened in it, but each of us had different experiences or found things that did/did not work/worked in an unexpected way. The beat did not offend me and I found it easy to go along with.

Perhaps it was the mead, perhaps it was the drumbeat, but I went deep and was the last to come out.  Yet I emerged feeling relaxed, calm if not a little floaty, probably because I felt reluctant to come back into my body again.    

As we ate and drank, I won the crown for the most tumbleweed moments in one night, but we joked and compared notes and shared with what we felt comfortable to do so.  Teller played some of his didgeridoo and Thorsson showed us the delights of an indoor Northern Lights display. 

Photo by travelyukon.com 

About locksley2010

Based in the Midlands, Locksley2010 is now studying the Ovate Grade of the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids. He is seeking to be a full-time actor, likes cats, honest people and thinks he's hilarious. Do not feed after midnight!
This entry was posted in Meetings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October Meeting 2016- Drumming meditation journey

  1. Cymro says:

    What else would you expect from
    The deva of the drum?

Leave a Reply

